Abhinav Ramesh Kashyap

The Bangalore Social

“I go wherever Bangalore Metro goes. Else, I don’t ”. The word “Traffic” is part of the everyday vocabulary here, so much so that that there is a joke: Traffic is a place in Bangalore where you can find yourself perpetually stuck. Amidst the chaos, metro has been a saviour, whisking people away in a metallic box, compelling them to sit or stand in an orderly manner. It’s the only way to ensure civility in a city where little else works.

Traveling by metro is a joy. The Metro is literally above it all—I get a bird's-eye view of Bangalore's traffic-laden roads as the train zips through the city. Inside, it's a melting pot of people from all walks of life. One person might be dressed in a sharp suit, discussing SEO and marketing, while another sits quietly, lost in their own thoughts. Unlike in Singapore, where everyone seems glued to their phones, here, people are more often absorbed in their own mental drama, which I find refreshing. This openness sparks conversations—sometimes just a simple "Hi" or small talk. This morning, a couple of women told me how the city market is crowded because of tomorrow’s festivities. I get live updates about the city without needing to tune into the radio or read the newspaper—insights you won't find on Twitter. I've often exchanged numbers with fellow passengers and stayed in touch. It might seem strange or even risky to someone from another country, but in India, it's common to make friends while walking in the park or riding the metro.

The streets on the other hand tell a completely a different story. People are always on the edge. There are three kinds of street dwellers: Pedestrians, who are at the bottom of the food chain and often helpless helpless; two wheeler rider, who navigate by slipping through the crevices of the slow moving traffic turning, turning and gliding on their whim; and SUV drivers in Bangalore who think that they can make space by the power of their horns. The urgency of people living in Bangalore to reach somewhere as quickly as possible without regard for others on the street has made living here a constant battle with stress. In the past three weeks alone, I've been honked at from behind on narrow roads with barely any space to walk, and others have blared their horns to demand space to park. This uncouth behavior has been on the rise in recent years. The frustration surrounding Bangalore's traffic isn’t just about the number of vehicles; it’s driven by the increasing lack of civility on the roads.

Internally, I’ve decided to remain calm on the streets, even when the temperatures reach boiling point. Once, I gestured to a driver to lay off the horn. It irked him so much that he stopped to give me a piece of his mind. I simply walked away without saying a word or even looking back. It might have irritated him even more, but his reaction is his responsibility. I did what I felt was right. Will I keep making those gestures to irritate others, or will I just endure the uncouth behavior? Next up, the other social aspects of living here. Have fun.

PS: This post has nothing do with the famous pubs in Bangalore :D

#blaugust2024