Abhinav Ramesh Kashyap

Back in Bangalore (Blaugust-2)

Who am I? Without getting too philosophical, here is my introduction. My name is Abhinav. I moved back to my home city, Bangalore this week. It is known as the IT capital of India. nearly everyone here knows how to develop software. Besides "IT", Bangalore is known for its temperate climate. Although situated in the southern part of India where the summers can be scorching, Bangalore is blessed with good weather and I am blessed to call it home.

It was not until I left Bangalore that I fully appreciated what I had here. In 2015, I had a fulfilling job, great friends and I was thriving. But, my youthful ambitions drove me to explore something beyond software engineering. Machine learning interested me. I moved to Singapore to pursue my Masters at the National University of Singapore.

At the National University of Singapore, I pursued a more academic route and opted to do my Masters by thesis. It required me to find a new research problem and try to find solutions . I focused on summarisation of text. I took courses that supplemented my research problem including foundational machine learning courses which test your math and your self-confidence. While my friends took software engineering courses, I was alone in classes that involved more pen and paper and less computer. In the hindsight, although it seems daunting I held my hope that I will get better at it. I continued my path and got a PhD in 2022 in Natural Language Processing. After that I worked as a Scientist in Singapore for a couple of years till 2024, before I moved back to Bangalore.

Life in Singapore, did not excite me anymore, now that I had achieved what I came for. Moreover, Singapore offered me less things compared to what I had left back in Bangalore. I am going to continue my career here as a ML Engineer in a company called Crayon. I am excited to join there and create good impact and deliver machine learning based solutions to clients.

Here I am, back in my beloved city. I am thrilled to be here. Besides my professional pursuits, I have other hobbies. I enjoy sketching, particularly architectural designs using pen and alcohol markers. I also love singing and playing the guitar, sometimes just for myself and occasionally for others. These activities can engross me for hours on end. I am also looking forward to engaging in more community-based activities, as Bangalore offers numerous opportunities for involvement. Here's to Bangalore, now and always.

#blaugust2024